Excellence in Safety Awards

The University Laboratory Safety Committee (ULSC) is happy to announce two new laboratory safety awards to be presented annually. The awards will recognize a university faculty or staff member (Individual Award) and a laboratory research group (Group Award) who have made a considerable contribution to improving laboratory safety on the Ohio State campus. Such contributions can be defined as, but are not limited to, actions taken to prevent injury or illness, outstanding response and cooperation given to resolve unsafe conditions, consistent improvement during laboratory inspections, or any other consistent and proactive demonstration of efforts in support of a positive laboratory safety culture.

Environmental Health & Safety and the Office of Research coordinate and implement the University Laboratory Safety Committee. The ULSC represents faculty, research staff, graduate students, and department safety coordinators from all Ohio State colleges and campuses. The goal of the ULSC is to enhance the safety culture at The Ohio State University by helping to shape safety programs, review and distribute new regulatory information, and provide feedback from the university community regarding current laboratory safety incidents or issues.


Nominations for 2016 individual and group awards are due by February 28, 2017. To nominate an individual or laboratory research group, please submit the appropriate online nomination form.

Individual Award Nomination

Group Award Nomination

The ULSC will review nominations and choose the award winners. Presentations will be made in April, 2017 at an awards luncheon. The winner of the individual award will be presented with a commemorative plaque. The winning laboratory research group will be presented with a commemorative plaque and a $500 award to be used for safety-related purchases, such as safety supplies, new personal protective equipment, training, etc. 

As always, thank you for your commitment to making The Ohio State University a safe working environment for everyone!



Be safe today and remain a Buckeye tomorrow